It’s Been Awhile


It’s been so long since I’ve written anything other than IEPs or lesson plans I don’t know if I can even write anymore, but I figure it’s worth dusting off the old fingerjoints to give it a shot for old times’ sake.

Commitments require sacrifice. I’d like to write blogs, write a book, read books, and read articles, but this year I’ve had to put those things mostly to the side to focus on my curriculum and instruction. 

I’m now working in a school with educators who challenge me every day to be better than who I am and to rethink my beliefs and assumptions. One day I am filled with self-doubt, the next I am ready to stand up for my vision. I’m learning the value in professional debate, a continuously evolving wrestle with complexity.

I’ve got a long way to go in becoming the kind of person that I wish I could be. I suppose half the battle may be that I am aware of this. 

Author: manderson

I live in NYC.

Leave a Reply

