Some Things


Random things running through my dome:

  • Shake Weight. I hope you’ve witnessed these ads. Truly remarkable and inspiring. It simply demonstrates why guys never have problems with flabby underarms, yo. Watch the SNL spoof if you’re not quite sure what I’m referring to.
  • TV shows may possibly be overtaking movies in terms of well-written scripts and intense, riveting character-driven drama that is full of subtle signification and profound societal deconstruction. Well, no, not even possibly. Definitely. At least when you are talking about Mad Men and The Wire. I don’t even really understand why people shell out close to 20 beans in order to get their ears blasted out by some Hollywood crap after watching 20 commercials. Get yourself on Netflix and rent some good TV series.
  • After reading Born to Run (great book for all you runners out there), I suddenly decided to try out ‘barefoot’ running, even though I’ve known about it for years and never wanted to try it since I figure if it ain’t broke don’t fix it. So I got me some Vibram Five Fingers and decided that I would very carefully train and work up into running in them. I went out for what I thought was a short run in them, but subsequently realized that it ain’t no joke–you really got to work your way into this new form of running, as in you’d better WALK around barefoot for a few weeks before even thinking of trotting. I’ve fucked up a muscle in my calf which I’m hoping is just a bad knot. But I still plan on working my way into it. I’m just gonna take it a hell of lot slower and easier.
  • It’s kind of nice to sleep in. And have all this free time. It almost makes all the psychological and spiritual trauma I underwent over the school year worth it. Not really. But it’s nice.
Author: manderson

I live in NYC.

3 thoughts on “Some Things”

  1. Oh, also something I wanted to say in reference to the possible superiority of some TV series is that when utilized effectively, a TV series has the advantage (over a movie) of a sustained narrative. It has the space and time to branch out into tangential characters and plotlines and truly unwrap some interesting twists in development. A movie is bound by its time constraints, it has to deliver the punchline, the happy or tragic ending. A TV show, on the other hand, can leave its threads dangling from one show into the next, just so long as it has enough juice in it to sustain interest.

  2. Getting started with the five fingers is indeed no joke. I did the exact same thing you describe and my calves hurt for over a week. You’ll be getting some more random pain as it goes on, but I don’t think you’ve fucked up your legs too bad. And it’s all worth it.

    1. Yeah, it turned out just to be a knot. I went on a hike out to Aloha Lake today in the Five Fingers, and if that didn’t break me in, I don’t know what will!

Leave a Reply

