Swashbuckling Standards


My head is swimming in NY state standards right now. It’s easy to get caught up in a systemized language that is not my own when that is what I am required to speak in order to survive. But eventually, with enough swimming, hopefully, I will raise my head up out of the current to catch a clear-sighted view of what is beyond and around and above. When I am deep within it all, awash in the murky swarm of formulaic legalese and politically manipulated bureacracies, it can be difficult to retain my inner vision. As I gain clarity on the essential questions that uncoil fitfully, with artful prying, from the standards, I hope to achieve some semblance of holistic order and comprehensiveness that I can use thereafter to apply to creative, project-based thematic units. Here’s to Bloom’s taxonomy.

Author: manderson

I live in NYC.

Leave a Reply

