Anniversary of My Arrival


So it has now been a full year since this intrepid Californian arrived on this eastern shore of dense urban life. In this past year I have been seriously challenged and have undergone some changes, some growing up, some facing of the hard edged point of now termed ‘Reality’, or—as we used to term it out on a small lake bordering a wilderness area out in Tahoe—the ‘Real World’. A quick schemattering of this past year in a nutshell:

  • a 7 day journey in a Budget truck across a storm/flood stricken Mid-West/South with all of my worldly possessions, including my terrified White-Fronted Amazon parrot Vinnie and my girlfriend
  • a living in the living room of my girlfriend’s family’s apartment, sleeping on an air mattress that we blew up each and every night and deconstructed again in the morning, so that our ‘room’ could reconvert into a TV watching arena, in which I was subjected to extremely loud marathon watchings of Dancing With The Stars, American Idol, and The View, just to name a select few
  • a confrontation on the late night D train with a very large man who was seeking to kick both my and my girlfriend’s ass
  • I almost threw up on a train and bus, but just barely held it in to spew it all out at a bus stop 10 blocks away from our street
  • a proposal and subsequent engagement to my girlfriend, now henceforth to be known as The Fiancée
  • my fiancee’s sister moved out, thus enabling my fiancee and I to move into her room, where we now sleep on two twin beds pushed up together. We’re moving on up in the world
  • an attempt to obtain our own apartment failed; I got Lasik surgery performed on my eyes
  • I was unemployed for 6 months and sought desperately for a job, undergoing strange interview processes and feeling my self-esteem rise and plummet on a minute-by-minute basis just like the stock market
  • I finally gained employment—in a location 1 1/2 – 2 hours away by public transit in Queens, with variable and long hours

Well, that’s pretty much my New York experience in a broad and sweeping overview. In celebration of my survival and continuing eeked existence here in this city, I am going home to Southern California next week, to obtain some much needed R&R, as well as to see my family and especially my nieces and nephews, one of whom I have not even met yet. My fiancee and I are going to get massages, as both our bodies are falling apart from our respective jobs, and simply enjoy ourselves, as we haven’t been able to spend more than a few hours together from week to week.

Author: manderson

I live in NYC.

2 thoughts on “Anniversary of My Arrival”

  1. I wish we could. No Northern Cali on this trip; but I am looking forward to the Big Day to come back up there soon. I guess you’ve gotten the majority of the major planning out of the way by now, and so thus are sitting ‘pon your English-born laurels. Want some mix CD exchanges going on?

Leave a Reply

