Day 3: Oklahoma City


A long day through flatlands, with stops only for gas at Love’s, a sammich at Subway, and some hotel coupons at the OK visitor center. We’re smack-dab in the center of our journey, and the weariness is beginning to set in. I can’t say I’m very impressed with OK City from what I’ve seen, which is admittedly just the highway + cheap hotel + Cracker Barrel. The highway, as soon as you enter the city, is literally fragmented into shards. I thought the wheels were going to fall off of the truck. I’m sure Vincent the parrot felt like the world was finally ending. Tomorrow we shoot for Jackson, TN, another 540 something miles. I wish we could cut our days shorter for the green lad, but the journey must go on. One can see by looking into his wide brown eyes as he huddles down on his perch within the cab of the truck, dazed and in shock, that he is immersed in a world of torment and utter bewilderment. I wish I could explain it to him so that he could understand, but the truth is that I feel pretty much the same way. It seems that after a long period of doldrum lull, I have entered into the streaming vortex, with no turning back. My life henceforth with be propelled headfirst out of a weeklong haul in a truck into a world strange, wired, and unwelcoming. This whirlwind initiation into new realms is entirely self-willed, fortunately. But it’s still a little overwhelming, stressful, scary. A storm advances just ahead of our trajectory, flash flood watches posted akimbo. Across the nation we advance, into the unknown, further away from my past, closer to something beyond what I have previously used to define my understanding.

Author: manderson

I live in NYC.

1 thought on “Day 3: Oklahoma City”

Leave a Reply

