Fire Update


Best sites for checking on the updated status of the wildfire are:

Tahoe Daily Tribunewww.tahoedailytribune.com

US Forest Service Angora Fire Incident Pageinciweb.org/incident/725/

Yesterday, the winds didn’t pick up as expected, and the danger of the combination of high winds and high temperatures was thus avoided for one more day, and all day long the fire lines were strengthened. Today the winds are definitely picking up, but so far the fire has been kept under control. High winds are expected through Saturday, so it’s never quite certain how or if it will spread.

We’ve moved back into our apartment yet again, hopefully this time for good. I feel pretty confident, given that they are allowing people back into neighborhoods right along the fire line. Of course, things can change in a minute, and we’re keeping the car packed. But at least we don’t have to be driving around town and trying to figure out how to kill time.

Since I can’t get back into work, I have nothing to do, which seems like it would be a good thing—except that I have a car full of valuables so I can’t just drive anywhere, and I can’t go hiking or biking or running because the air quality is so bad that I’m coughing just from laying in bed. I wish I could enjoy this enforced vacation a little bit more, but truth be told, I’d rather be at work.

Author: manderson

I live in NYC.

2 thoughts on “Fire Update”

  1. Yo… it’s too bad you can’t enjoy your free time… maybe you could use it to work on something non-outdoorsy like working on your Spanish! Good luck, I hope things normalize for you soon.

    Andrea B.

  2. i’m really glad you guys are okay. that might sound cliche but it is completely heartfelt. i’m REALLY glad you guys are okay.

Leave a Reply

