Morning after Apocalypse


smolderingLast night at around 3:30 we heard our neighbors starting to move out, and so we got up and looked out the window, to see fireballs of flame leaping to the sky a few blocks away. We got in the car and drove across the highway, and watched what seemed to be the inevitable approach of destruction to our apartment complex. Ash fell in blankets in the apocalyptic night. We drove across town and crashed with a friend for the rest of the morning.

Miracle of miracles, our apartment complex is still unscathed. From the way it looked last night, it seemed an impossibility that it wouldn’t burn down. But I’m also not exactly going to jump for joy just yet, because the fire line at the moment is literally blocks down the street, and the fire, as of last press released, is only 5% contained. So I’m just keeping my fingers crossed and counting my blessings in terms of having at least some of my most valuable possessions with me.

Business trip is postponed, of course. All our guests have made an exodus to the north shore, and we’re still scrambling to figure out what to do.

It’s a strange feeling to go through your belongings and pick out on the spur of the moment what is most valuable to you that can fit into your car. And you come to realize that there is very little, really, that you need. But it’s also strange to literally kiss the majority of your things goodbye, leaving them, quite potentially, to burn.

At least 4 of the people I work with have homes in the fire ravaged areas, and I hope to god that they still have something to go back to. Because having thought that I’d lost my home last night, now I know what it can feel like.

Author: manderson

I live in NYC.

3 thoughts on “Morning after Apocalypse”

  1. I know I said this on your last post, but my thoughts are with you. I can’t even begin to imagine what you’re going through!

  2. I just checked your blog because I saw the fires in the paper and I was concerned that you were affected. Looks like it was a close call, I’m hoping it stays that way!

    Andrea

  3. I’m back in my pad, and the fire is now reported as 40% contained, which is quite a jump from the 5% of this morning, so things are looking good. The smoke has also decreased substantially throughout the day. The wind will be increasing on Wednesday, but if tomorrow containment is furthered, I think the danger will be past, and it will just be a matter of killing the spot fires.

    A close call for me, and a great loss to many others. But such is the price to pay for living amongst beautiful dense pine trees in an arid land, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

