Googly Eyed Over Ghee


I’m taking an Indian cooking class, and it’s pretty fun to make curries and chutneys. I’m realizing how much ghee is involved in Indian cookery. It’s in everything. And it’s damned tasty, and it’s not at all hard to make, and it’s better to cook with than normal butter. So why doesn’t everyone use this stuff? Over my girlfriend’s alarmed objections, I took the pound of butter from our fridge today and promptly boiled up a batch and poured it into a jar. The stuff keeps for at least several months at room temperature. Again, why don’t we all use this shit? I’m sold. Trade in that old butter and upgrade it to ghee! It’s ancient ayurvedic alchemy!

Author: manderson

I live in NYC.

Leave a Reply

