And then it comes


winterroad.jpg

I guess I was just in shock. I was standing in the middle of the room drinking wine when the pain hit me, the soul-ripping emptiness that collapses everything in your life into pure suffering. Beyond words, beyond logic, beyond anything but what it is. I think it was when I had to tell someone who didn’t know yet what had happened that brought it home to me. There’s no avoiding it when it comes. It hits you like a truck and runs you over. It seems like it was a long time ago that it happened but it was just yesterday afternoon. Still trying to associate the body with the man that I knew and connect the pieces. I just realized that it is actually more healing for the grieving to see the body, to visually and viscerally know that that person is indeed gone, that it is real. Then you can’t pretend or dissociate things with your mind.

I feel like an old man, tired and depleted. I feel like I’m living in a warzone. There’s really no words for this.

Author: manderson

I live in NYC.

One thought on “And then it comes”

  1. Jenny & I just read your blog, trying to piece what you’re saying together. It’s terribly sad, & we send our sorrow. It’s beginning to look like DOPO is like the Professor of Defense against the Dark Arts – a cursed position. My best to everyone at camp, the small community that it hurts the most.

Leave a Reply

