Medicalism


Apparently I have labyrinthitis, a viral infection of the inner ear. So all I can do is take anti-inflammatories, anti-nausea and dizziness medications and wait for it to pass. I’ve been stumbling around like a drunkard all week.

I had been getting fed up with doctors and dentists after this past month, when I had to go to the dentist 4 times to try to correct what began as a simple filling and turned into a crown. The doctor I went to last week when my vertigo started was incompetent and a waste of my co-pay and hour sitting around in his office.

But today, I went first to my dentist, to make sure that it wasn’t my tooth which was causing the loss of equilibrium (it wasn’t), and she and her receptionist were genuinely concerned for my well-being, and made sure that I called them after my visit to the doctor. Then the doctor I visited later took her time with me and listened to my symptoms and patiently explained to me why she diagnosed it as she did. And so I feel a little bit better about doctors and dentists now. Apparently, women tend to be better care practitioners for me, so I’ll just try to get women from now on to look after me. Guy doctors always seem to make me feel like I’m wasting my time visiting them unless I’m near death.

In any case, I feel like it would have been just as effective to go to a shaman and have them blow mapacho over me and then suck the evil from my body while tripping deeply off ayahuasca. I mean really, what is the difference, when the doctor can’t really diagnose what is wrong with you except to prescribe painkillers and tell you to wait for your body to heal itself? It’s just as effective to get some esoteric healer to placebo effect your mind, and at least a shaman gives you a sweet performance to boot, making you feel like they’re really investing something of themselves in healing you. A doctor just comes in and diagnoses you and scribbles some shit down and gets their nurse to clean the cerumen out your ears.

Author: manderson

I live in NYC.

Leave a Reply

