Blessed


To be blessed
is to recognize
what you’ve got,
what you’ve been given.

To wake up every morning to her bright eyes is a pleasure I never could have anticipated. I’m used to operating alone, to relying on myself, to taking my doses of loneliness and ecstasy in equal indifference. It continually surprises me when she does things for me, and I realize suddenly that I’ve got someone to rely on, to help me through daily existence.

I don’t know how to process this domestic bliss, how to invert it inwards to the inner eye and discover the depth and distance with which to craft words from it. It’s new for me. This is coming from the guy who has never been in a relationship for longer than 3 months. I’d begun to get used to fly-by love, to opening my heart to suffering–I haven’t yet experienced steady loving like this. I have to get used to this, to being . . . happy.

Author: manderson

I live in NYC.

Leave a Reply

