En Qosqo Una Vez Màs


 Machu PiccuPorterGrupoFlores

I’m back in Qosqo! La noche antes de irme para camino Inca, estaba caminando en la lluvìa demasiado tiempo, y estuve demasiado mojado, y despues, por supuesto, yo me resfriè. Por todo el camino estaba lloviendo y entonces yo estuve mojado y constantemente frìo. El resfriado estuvo dentro de mis pulmones, finalmente. Ahora todovia tengo mucha congestiòn en mi nariz y mis pulmones. ¡Puta madre! Me molesta mucho. Pero, a pesar de la lluvìa y enfermedad, tuve un muy buen tiempo en el camino Inca. El grupo para la caminata fue muy interesante con muchos diferentes tipos de personas–hubo una pareja de Suecia, hubo una pareja de Uruguay, una pareja de Canada, y cinco muchachos de Argentina. Nostros tuvimos muchos conversacciònes muy interesantes.
It rained the whole time on the Inca trail of course, although luckily it was perfect for the last day at Machu Picchu. The trail was harder than I expected, given the sheer volume of tourists that traverse it each day of the year except Febrero, when it’s closed for maintenance. I was doing great on the trail until the third day, which was mostly all downhill on these extremely steep steps, during which an old injury in my knee reappeared, and I limped like a dog hit by a car for the rest of the way. But other than being sick for the whole time and the constant everpresent rain, it was actually a wonderful experience. I was surprised, actually, because after the first day I thought it was some easy gringo bullshit with tiendas all along the way selling Snickers and Gatorade. It is still some gringo bullshit, let’s be honest, you get to eat phatty meals all along the way and most of your shit is carried by porters, but it is quite a difficult trail if you are attacking it without taking breaks every five minutes. My group was a wonderful mix of nationalities, work experiences, and personalities. There was a couple from Uruguay, a couple from Sweden, a group of rugby player chicos from Argentina, and a couple from Quebec. We had some great conversations sitting around in the food tent drinking coca tea. One of the Argentinos worked in Lake Tahoe and has family from my hometown of La Jolla. Un poco mundo.
Spanish speakers are extremely supportive of my attempts to learn and speak Español, I am constantly receiving the compliment that my Spanish is really good, although I don’t understand how this can be so when I am expressing myself on the level of a kindergartner. I think they are simply happy to see the stray foreigner making an attempt to learn the language out of the hordes of foreigners that come through speaking nada–in any case, it’s certainly nice to receive constant encouragement.
There is much to tell from the trek that is all kind of jumbled up in my brain right now. I think more will become extricated as I unwind in Qosqo. I took tons of pictures of steps made from rocks and of clouds. Muchas ruinas, por supuesto. The more I learn of the Incan culture, the more impressed I am by their organizational coherence and governmental oversight. They achieved remarkable heights of culture, art, and architecture, they manifested herculuean feats of organized manuel labor, and they did not use slaves, and they respected la Pachamama in everything they did. There is a habit of the Andinos passed down from the Incas in which whenever they drink chicha or chew coca, they give a little piece of it back to la tierra. The Incas molded their towns to the landscapes in which they harmonized their lives. Their structures carved patiently from stone still stand in the cloud forest although their lives are long gone, their legacy decimated by the conquistadores. In our culture ahora we take and we take and what do we give back to that from which we are taking?
More mundane details of the journey to come!

Author: manderson

I live in NYC.

2 thoughts on “En Qosqo Una Vez Màs”

  1. hi blonde guy! how are you?
    muuuy buenas fotos!!!!
    realmente me dió mucha nostalgia verlas publicadas,………….. buenos momentos, no es así?
    Y? para cuando el viaje a Uruguay?
    abazos

Leave a Reply

