The Rain Falls On Every One


Perrito en Lluvia

Mucha mucha mucha lluvìa. I’m starting to regret only bringing a pair of sandalìas and zapatos de bailar. My poncho and baby alpaca chompa keep me fairly warm otherwise though.
I ate alpaca meat today for lunch. It was tough and gamey but kind of tasty. I found this restaurant that’s a real gem. It’s a fairly reasonably priced 8 soles for el menù ejecutivo, considering it’s right near the plaza de armas, nestled amongst very expensive tourist trap eateries. You get a pisco sour as an aperitif, un sopa o ensalada, el plato principal, y un postre. And the quality of the food is the best for comida tipica I’ve had so far for that price. And even better, there’s never anyone there, so I can sit and study whilst engorging myself.

Who are you and why are you here?
I do not feel as though I do not belong. What is necessary is the faith that one is here for a reason, a purpose, an underlying meaning which gives context and strength to one’s actions. I am beginning to feel that I am approaching the reason why I ever came here in the first place. I came here to find myself. I find myself in the Andinos en el campo. I find myself in the children selling finger puppets. I find myself in the disco dancing to reggaeton. I find myself in the mountains tearing through the everpresent clouds. I find myself in all of the locals who are patient enough to converse with me on what for them must be the level of a 5 year old. I find myself in the differences that lie between what I know and what I feel. I find myself in the ties that lie between thou and I. I find myself so that I can know what it is that I must give away. I find myself so that I can feel what is this gem that I hold deep within me, never to be polished. I find myself, my friends, so that I can find you, so that I can find the world and know firmly, simply,
that there is nowhere else that I need to go.

I’m going to go know and meet up with a friend. Hasta pronto.

Author: manderson

I live in NYC.

Leave a Reply

