Huaraz


En el CombiEating Lunch in the Cordillera Blanca

Ok, I just finally figured out after my internet session closed on me the last two times after I’d already typed a whole friggin message that this particular internet place has a filter on it which does not allow you to type in the word “c.o.c.k.” As in the fowl. Ok, so I’ll retype this for the third time now and try to remember not to type anything about fowl, which I should have called by it’s Spanish name anyway, gallína.
I arrived this morning in Huaraz after a 8 hour bus ride that ascended something like 10,000 feet. Huaraz is nestled in between the Cordillera Blancas y Negras, and it is very beautiful. I took el combi up to the mountainside today and looked at some stone ruins that weren’t very exciting and then walked around the countryside, which would have reminded me of Italy if I had ever been there. It is extremely refreshing to get out of Lima, and now that I am out I am hesitant to go back, although I kind of have to to finish up my Spanish classes. The people here are friendly and colorful and they wear cool hats. There are pigs and . . .gallínas and cows and sheep and little dogs wandering about and tons of eucalyptus trees for some reason.
Tomorrow I will begin a four day trekking trip. I don’t think it’s going to be very difficult, but it should provide some good scenery. It is my birthday on Sunday, and I will be out camping by a fire somewhere around 5,000 metres above sea level drinking chicha de jora, a beer made from fermented maíze, so think of me and send me some good drunken thoughts. Next time you hear from me I will be back in Lima. Hasta luego

Author: manderson

I live in NYC.

2 thoughts on “Huaraz”

  1. you are what you write. Watch out for them dirty ladies. I think of you often. Wish I was their with you instead of collecting unemployment and doing nothing. Happy birthday you old poop you.

Leave a Reply

